FormatDigital & Media Resources | Audio | CD

Key Features


Break the enchanted mirror. Burn the poisoned apple. Fight for your own version of happily ever after.Once upon a time, a girl named Sophie rode into the forest. Her lips were as red as blood, her skin as pale as snow, and her hair as dark as night. When she stopped to rest, her huntsman companion took his knife, plunged it into Sophie's chest . . . and removed her heart.
As she gasped for breath on the forest floor, Sophie was terrified but not surprised. She'd heard the rumors, the whispers. They said she was too weak and foolish to rule, a waste of a princess. A disaster of a future queen. And Sophie believed them. Because in this world, poisoned apples don't put you into an enchanted sleep -- they infect your mind with the cruelest things ever
said about you. It's what keeps girls like Sophie from becoming too powerful, too strong . . .
Yet Sophie doesn't die. She's rescued by seven mysterious engineers who manage to fashion her a temporary heart. It's not perfect but it has one advantage -- it hasn't been contaminated by fear.
Now Sophie has the chance to hunt down the source of the poisoned apples, to find the person who stole her heart and take it back. To prove that even the darkest magic can't extinguish the fire burning inside every girl.

Product Details

  • Item #: NTS863748
  • ISBN13: 9781338637489
  • Format: CD
  • Genre:
    Fairy Tales, Folk Tales, Fables
  • Grades: 7 - 12




What can we help you find?